Wheelers Lane Technology CollegeKing Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Birmingham.
Summary of the comparison
Wheelers Lane Technology College and King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls are secondary schools in Birmingham.
Wheelers Lane Technology College scores 69 out of 100 (grade C, average) and King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls scores 87 out of 100 (grade A, exceptional). King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls is ahead on our composite score.
Wheelers Lane Technology College was judged exceptional and King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 48.4 for Wheelers Lane Technology College and 80.4 for King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Wheelers Lane Technology College (53.7 in 2021-22, 48.4 in 2024-25) and has fallen at King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls (83.8 in 2021-22, 80.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BirminghamWheelers Lane Technology College | BirminghamKing Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C69/100 | A87/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 17th of 89 in Birmingham | 4th of 89 in Birmingham Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Outstanding | Ofsted: Outstanding | |
| School type | Community school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Boys | Girls | |
| Pupils on roll | 664 | 1,113 | |
| Capacity | 650 | 896 | |
| Location | Birmingham, B13 0SF | Birmingham, B14 7QJ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.4 | 80.4 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 57.3% | 98.0% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 74.0% | 100.0% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 29.8% | 87.8% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.18 | 7.83 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 131 | 148 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 186 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 45.3 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | A- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 46.6 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 55.1% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 664 | 1,113 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 38.4% | 31.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 36.7% | 21.8% | |
| SEN support | 22.3% | 1.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.3% | 0.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.9% | 5.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 18.3% | 13.7% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Wheelers Lane Technology College
King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls
Full profiles: Wheelers Lane Technology College · King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls