The Open AcademySewell Park Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Norwich.
Summary of the comparison
The Open Academy and Sewell Park Academy are secondary schools in Norwich.
The Open Academy scores 44 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Sewell Park Academy scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Sewell Park Academy is ahead on our composite score.
The Open Academy was judged Good and Sewell Park Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 36.7 for The Open Academy and 39.1 for Sewell Park Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at The Open Academy (42.0 in 2021-22, 36.7 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Sewell Park Academy (40.0 in 2021-22, 39.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | NorwichThe Open Academy | NorwichSewell Park Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D44/100 | D48/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 51st of 53 in Norfolk | 46th of 53 in Norfolk Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Expected | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 560 | 789 | |
| Capacity | 750 | 750 | |
| Location | Norwich, NR7 9DL | Norwich, NR3 4BX | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 36.7 | 39.1 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 34.6% Stronger figure | 29.3% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 51.0% Stronger figure | 47.3% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 64.4% Stronger figure | 17.3% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.16 | 3.24 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 104 | 150 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 17 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 17.2 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | D- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 17.0 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 0.0% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 560 | 789 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 40.0% | 41.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 12.9% | 25.6% | |
| SEN support | 25.9% | 18.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 6.6% | 6.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 12.4% | 10.3% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 32.7% | 24.8% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Open Academy
Sewell Park Academy
Full profiles: The Open Academy · Sewell Park Academy