The National CofE AcademyThe Bulwell Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Nottingham.
Summary of the comparison
The National CofE Academy and The Bulwell Academy are secondary schools in Nottingham.
The National CofE Academy scores 59 out of 100 (grade C, average) and The Bulwell Academy scores 43 out of 100 (grade D, below average). The National CofE Academy is ahead on our composite score.
The National CofE Academy was judged Good and The Bulwell Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 42.6 for The National CofE Academy and 36.1 for The Bulwell Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at The National CofE Academy (46.8 in 2021-22, 42.6 in 2024-25) and has fallen at The Bulwell Academy (41.0 in 2021-22, 36.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | NottinghamThe National CofE Academy | NottinghamThe Bulwell Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C59/100Stronger figure | D43/100 | |
| Local ranking | 21st of 45 in Nottinghamshire | 17th of 19 in Nottingham | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Expected | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,125 | 1,047 | |
| Capacity | 1,184 | 1,050 | |
| Location | Nottingham, NG15 7DB | Nottingham, NG6 8AQ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 42.6 Stronger figure | 36.1 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 38.0% Stronger figure | 29.3% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 57.0% Stronger figure | 46.8% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 32.5% Stronger figure | 12.2% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.72 Stronger figure | 3.01 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 200 | 188 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 51 2024-25 | Not reported2022-23 | |
| A-level average points | 33.3 2024-25 · England 35.0 | Not reported2022-23 | |
| A-level average grade | C+ 2024-25 | Not reported2022-23 | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 35.9 2024-25 · England 35.8 | Not reported2022-23 | |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 13.8% 2024-25 · England 17.5% | Not reported2022-23 | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,125 | 1,047 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 22.1% | 53.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 5.0% | 13.8% | |
| SEN support | 10.0% | 20.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.2% | 1.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.0% Stronger figure | 11.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 17.9% Stronger figure | 33.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The National CofE Academy
The Bulwell Academy
Full profiles: The National CofE Academy · The Bulwell Academy