King Harold Business & Enterprise AcademyEpping St Johns Church of England School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
King Harold Business & Enterprise Academy and Epping St Johns Church of England School are secondary schools.
King Harold Business & Enterprise Academy scores 45 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Epping St Johns Church of England School scores 54 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Epping St Johns Church of England School is ahead on our composite score.
King Harold Business & Enterprise Academy was judged in need of attention and Epping St Johns Church of England School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 36.5 for King Harold Business & Enterprise Academy and 42.8 for Epping St Johns Church of England School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at King Harold Business & Enterprise Academy (42.9 in 2021-22, 36.5 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Epping St Johns Church of England School (44.4 in 2021-22, 42.8 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Waltham AbbeyKing Harold Business & Enterprise Academy | EppingEpping St Johns Church of England School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D45/100 | D54/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 66th of 80 in Essex | 42nd of 80 in Essex Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Needs attention | Ofsted: ExpectedStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 797 | 1,031 | |
| Capacity | 750 | 1,036 | |
| Location | Waltham Abbey, EN9 1LF | Epping, CM16 5JB | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 36.5 | 42.8 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 31.8% | 42.1% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 55.3% | 67.3% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 14.4% | 44.7% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.02 | 3.99 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 132 | 159 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 76 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 38.0 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 40.1 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 18.8% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 797 | 1,031 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 34.5% | 22.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 16.6% | 4.6% | |
| SEN support | 16.3% | 11.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.6% | 2.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.6% Stronger figure | 9.9% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 25.1% Stronger figure | 30.0% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
King Harold Business & Enterprise Academy
Epping St Johns Church of England School
Full profiles: King Harold Business & Enterprise Academy · Epping St Johns Church of England School