King Edward VI Grammar SchoolLouth Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Louth.
Summary of the comparison
King Edward VI Grammar School and Louth Academy are secondary schools in Louth.
King Edward VI Grammar School scores 68 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Louth Academy scores 59 out of 100 (grade C, average). King Edward VI Grammar School is ahead on our composite score.
King Edward VI Grammar School was judged Good and Louth Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 61.3 for King Edward VI Grammar School and 45.0 for Louth Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at King Edward VI Grammar School (65.4 in 2021-22, 61.3 in 2024-25) and has risen at Louth Academy (40.6 in 2021-22, 45.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | LouthKing Edward VI Grammar School | LouthLouth Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C68/100Stronger figure | C59/100 | |
| Local ranking | 11th of 54 in Lincolnshire Stronger figure | 22nd of 54 in Lincolnshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 889 | 864 | |
| Capacity | 812 | 900 | |
| Location | Louth, LN11 9LL | Louth, LN11 9AW | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 61.3 Stronger figure | 45.0 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 81.2% Stronger figure | 35.8% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 96.6% Stronger figure | 61.6% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 85.2% Stronger figure | 19.9% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.89 Stronger figure | 3.87 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 149 | 151 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 80 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 29.8 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 29.5 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 11.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 889 | 864 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 11.1% | 40.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 3.9% | 2.4% | |
| SEN support | 8.7% | 21.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.5% | 3.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 5.2% Stronger figure | 8.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 11.9% Stronger figure | 26.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
King Edward VI Grammar School
Louth Academy
Full profiles: King Edward VI Grammar School · Louth Academy