Kelmscott SchoolGeorge Mitchell School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in London.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Kelmscott School and George Mitchell School in London.
Kelmscott School scores 53 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and George Mitchell School scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average). George Mitchell School is ahead on our composite score.
Kelmscott School was judged Good and George Mitchell School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 37.5 for Kelmscott School and 50.2 for George Mitchell School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Kelmscott School (43.4 in 2021-22, 37.5 in 2025-26) and has risen at George Mitchell School (45.3 in 2021-22, 50.2 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | LondonKelmscott School | LondonGeorge Mitchell School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D53/100 | C58/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 15th of 17 in Waltham Forest | 11th of 17 in Waltham Forest Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 3-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,137 | 973 | |
| Capacity | 1,200 | 1,065 | |
| Location | London, E17 8DN | London, E10 5DN | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 37.5 | 50.2 Stronger figure | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 25.5% | 51.3% Stronger figure | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 49.5% | 72.6% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 196 | 113 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 61.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 2.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 105.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,097 | 1,004 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 37.2% | 37.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 54.6% | 55.3% | |
| SEN support | 13.1% | 11.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.8% | 5.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.7% | 7.4% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.4% | 23.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Kelmscott School
George Mitchell School
Full profiles: Kelmscott School · George Mitchell School