Hugh Sexey Church of England Middle SchoolThe King Alfred School an Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Hugh Sexey Church of England Middle School and The King Alfred School an Academy.
Hugh Sexey Church of England Middle School scores 49 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and The King Alfred School an Academy scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Hugh Sexey Church of England Middle School is ahead on our composite score.
Hugh Sexey Church of England Middle School was judged Good and The King Alfred School an Academy was judged Good.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has risen at Hugh Sexey Church of England Middle School (63.0% in 2022-23, 72.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | WedmoreHugh Sexey Church of England Middle School | HighbridgeThe King Alfred School an Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D49/100Stronger figure | D48/100 | |
| Local ranking | 20th of 34 in Somerset Stronger figure | 23rd of 34 in Somerset | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Middle deemed secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 9-13 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 620 | 1,294 | |
| Capacity | 600 | 1,375 | |
| Location | Wedmore, BS28 4ND | Highbridge, TA9 3EE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | Not reported | 40.5 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | Not reported | 33.3% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | Not reported | 53.5% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | Not reported | 7.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | Not reported | 3.23 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | Not reported | 228 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 72.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 12.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 106.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 74 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 27.6 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 27.7 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 6.7% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 620 | 1,294 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 14.8% | 31.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.4% | 5.8% | |
| SEN support | 8.2% | 10.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.7% | 2.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.2% Stronger figure | 11.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 16.5% Stronger figure | 29.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Hugh Sexey Church of England Middle School
The King Alfred School an Academy
Full profiles: Hugh Sexey Church of England Middle School · The King Alfred School an Academy