Holly Lodge High School College of ScienceBristnall Hall Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Holly Lodge High School College of Science and Bristnall Hall Academy are secondary schools.
Holly Lodge High School College of Science scores 57 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Bristnall Hall Academy scores 73 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Bristnall Hall Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Holly Lodge High School College of Science was judged the expected standard and Bristnall Hall Academy was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 38.5 for Holly Lodge High School College of Science and 51.6 for Bristnall Hall Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Holly Lodge High School College of Science (42.8 in 2021-22, 38.5 in 2025-26) and has risen at Bristnall Hall Academy (49.5 in 2021-22, 51.6 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | SmethwickHolly Lodge High School College of Science | OldburyBristnall Hall Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C57/100 | B73/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 7th of 20 in Sandwell | 1st of 20 in Sandwell Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,636 | 1,088 | |
| Capacity | 1,650 | 1,010 | |
| Location | Smethwick, B67 7JG | Oldbury, B68 9PA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 38.5 | 51.6 Stronger figure | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 29.3% | 49.5% Stronger figure | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 51.4% | 72.2% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 276 | 216 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 74 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 32.8 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 41.2 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 10.5% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,643 | 1,098 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 44.1% | 39.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 50.3% | 19.7% | |
| SEN support | 10.3% | 11.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.5% | 9.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.4% | 7.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.3% | 18.3% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Holly Lodge High School College of Science
Bristnall Hall Academy
Full profiles: Holly Lodge High School College of Science · Bristnall Hall Academy