Crown Hills Community CollegeThe City of Leicester College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Leicester.
Summary of the comparison
Crown Hills Community College and The City of Leicester College are secondary schools in Leicester.
Crown Hills Community College scores 70 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and The City of Leicester College scores 65 out of 100 (grade C, average). Crown Hills Community College is ahead on our composite score.
Crown Hills Community College was judged exceptional and The City of Leicester College was judged strong.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 47.4 for Crown Hills Community College and 49.1 for The City of Leicester College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Crown Hills Community College (46.8 in 2021-22, 47.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | LeicesterCrown Hills Community College | LeicesterThe City of Leicester College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B70/100Stronger figure | C65/100 | |
| Local ranking | 5th of 20 in Leicester Stronger figure | 8th of 20 in Leicester | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | Ofsted: Strong | |
| School type | Community school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,497 | 1,569 | |
| Capacity | 1,254 | 1,614 | |
| Location | Leicester, LE5 5FT | Leicester, LE5 6LN | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 47.4 | 49.1 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 47.2% | 52.2% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 66.0% | 73.3% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 29.5% Stronger figure | 7.8% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.09 Stronger figure | 3.93 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 288 | 270 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 127 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 33.9 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 34.5 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 17.1% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,497 | 1,569 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 26.3% | 35.5% | |
| English as an additional language | 74.3% | 47.0% | |
| SEN support | 12.4% | 13.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.3% | 1.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.2% Stronger figure | 7.5% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 19.2% Stronger figure | 19.9% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Crown Hills Community College
The City of Leicester College
Full profiles: Crown Hills Community College · The City of Leicester College