Buxton SchoolForest Gate Community School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in London.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Buxton School and Forest Gate Community School in London.
Buxton School scores 61 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Forest Gate Community School scores 83 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Forest Gate Community School is ahead on our composite score.
Buxton School was judged Good and Forest Gate Community School was judged exceptional.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 48.6 for Buxton School and 59.0 for Forest Gate Community School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Buxton School (44.3 in 2021-22, 48.6 in 2025-26) and has held broadly level at Forest Gate Community School (59.6 in 2021-22, 59.0 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | LondonBuxton School | LondonForest Gate Community School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C61/100 | B83/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 6th of 17 in Waltham Forest | 1st of 20 in Newham | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: ExceptionalStronger figure | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 3-16 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,065 | 1,343 | |
| Capacity | 1,110 | 1,350 | |
| Location | London, E11 3NN | London, E7 9BB | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.6 | 59.0 Stronger figure | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 48.9% | 70.8% Stronger figure | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 66.2% | 85.8% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 133 | 260 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 74.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 4.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,154 | 1,344 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 40.1% | 44.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 51.8% | 56.9% | |
| SEN support | 16.6% | 5.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.7% | 3.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.2% | 5.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.0% | 10.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Buxton School
Forest Gate Community School
Full profiles: Buxton School · Forest Gate Community School