Bridgwater College AcademyThe King Alfred School an Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Bridgwater College Academy and The King Alfred School an Academy.
Bridgwater College Academy scores 30 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and The King Alfred School an Academy scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average). The King Alfred School an Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Bridgwater College Academy was judged in need of urgent improvement and The King Alfred School an Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 31.9 for Bridgwater College Academy and 40.5 for The King Alfred School an Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Bridgwater College Academy (40.4 in 2021-22, 31.9 in 2024-25) and has fallen at The King Alfred School an Academy (44.1 in 2021-22, 40.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BridgwaterBridgwater College Academy | HighbridgeThe King Alfred School an Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F30/100 | D48/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 31st of 34 in Somerset | 23rd of 34 in Somerset Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Urgent improvement | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 3-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,576 | 1,294 | |
| Capacity | 1,880 | 1,375 | |
| Location | Bridgwater, TA6 4QY | Highbridge, TA9 3EE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 31.9 | 40.5 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 16.0% | 33.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 36.4% | 53.5% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 79.7% Stronger figure | 7.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.85 | 3.23 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 187 | 228 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 25.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 4.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 100.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 99.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 74 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 27.6 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 27.7 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 6.7% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,576 | 1,294 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 36.5% | 31.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 20.0% | 5.8% | |
| SEN support | 24.1% | 10.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.1% | 2.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.0% Stronger figure | 11.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 27.2% Stronger figure | 29.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Bridgwater College Academy
The King Alfred School an Academy
Full profiles: Bridgwater College Academy · The King Alfred School an Academy