Witchford Village CollegeCromwell Community College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Witchford Village College and Cromwell Community College.
Witchford Village College scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Cromwell Community College scores 55 out of 100 (grade C, average). Witchford Village College is ahead on our composite score.
Witchford Village College was judged Good and Cromwell Community College was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 44.5 for Witchford Village College and 40.8 for Cromwell Community College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Witchford Village College (45.9 in 2021-22, 44.5 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Cromwell Community College (44.5 in 2021-22, 40.8 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ElyWitchford Village College | ChatterisCromwell Community College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C58/100Stronger figure | C55/100 | |
| Local ranking | 25th of 34 in Cambridgeshire Stronger figure | 26th of 34 in Cambridgeshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 4-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 767 | 1,524 | |
| Capacity | 900 | 1,370 | |
| Location | Ely, CB6 2JA | Chatteris, PE16 6UU | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 44.5 Stronger figure | 40.8 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 38.8% Stronger figure | 38.6% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 62.8% Stronger figure | 58.1% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 47.9% Stronger figure | 28.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.16 Stronger figure | 3.54 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 121 | 236 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 60 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 35.6 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 37.4 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 16.7% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 767 | 1,524 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 26.2% | 28.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 7.2% | 6.3% | |
| SEN support | 16.4% | 11.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 6.0% | 4.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.8% | 8.5% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.9% | 22.9% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Witchford Village College
Cromwell Community College
Full profiles: Witchford Village College · Cromwell Community College