Waverley Studio CollegeWaverley School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Birmingham.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Waverley Studio College and Waverley School in Birmingham.
Waverley Studio College scores 38 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and Waverley School scores 52 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Waverley School is ahead on our composite score.
Waverley Studio College was judged Good and Waverley School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 21.9 for Waverley Studio College and 41.9 for Waverley School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Waverley Studio College (29.3 in 2021-22, 21.9 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Waverley School (43.6 in 2021-22, 41.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BirminghamWaverley Studio College | BirminghamWaverley School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F38/100 | D52/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 80th of 89 in Birmingham | 65th of 89 in Birmingham Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Studio schools | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 14-19 | 2-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 223 | 1,687 | |
| Capacity | 300 | 1,947 | |
| Location | Birmingham, B9 5SX | Birmingham, B9 5QA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 21.9 | 41.9 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 12.7% | 33.8% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 25.5% | 56.3% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 75.6% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 1.83 | 3.84 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 55 | 213 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 67.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 8.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 105.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 107.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 49 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 14.8 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | E+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 13.5 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 0.0% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 251 | 1,696 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 56.6% | 56.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 49.8% | 58.4% | |
| SEN support | 37.5% | 14.5% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.4% | 5.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 21.9% | 9.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 54.9% | 35.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Waverley Studio College
Waverley School
Full profiles: Waverley Studio College · Waverley School