Walton Priory Middle SchoolSir Graham Balfour High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Walton Priory Middle School and Sir Graham Balfour High School.
Walton Priory Middle School scores 50 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Sir Graham Balfour High School scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average). Sir Graham Balfour High School is ahead on our composite score.
Walton Priory Middle School was judged strong and Sir Graham Balfour High School was judged Good.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has fallen at Walton Priory Middle School (60.0% in 2022-23, 52.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | StoneWalton Priory Middle School | StaffordSir Graham Balfour High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D50/100 | C58/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 48th of 70 in Staffordshire | 22nd of 70 in Staffordshire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: StrongStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Middle deemed secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 9-13 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 523 | 998 | |
| Capacity | 600 | 1,042 | |
| Location | Stone, ST15 0AL | Stafford, ST16 1NR | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | Not reported | 45.0 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | Not reported | 37.6% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | Not reported | 56.6% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | Not reported | 36.4% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | Not reported | 4.07 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | Not reported | 173 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 52.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 7.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 102.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 35 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 36.1 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 36.5 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 6.1% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 523 | 998 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 18.6% | 21.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.3% | 8.0% | |
| SEN support | 18.6% | 15.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.3% | 2.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 5.2% Stronger figure | 8.8% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 12.1% Stronger figure | 22.8% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Walton Priory Middle School
Sir Graham Balfour High School
Full profiles: Walton Priory Middle School · Sir Graham Balfour High School