UTC Sheffield City CentreAstrea Academy Sheffield
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Sheffield.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares UTC Sheffield City Centre and Astrea Academy Sheffield in Sheffield.
UTC Sheffield City Centre scores 45 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Astrea Academy Sheffield scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average). Astrea Academy Sheffield is ahead on our composite score.
UTC Sheffield City Centre was judged the expected standard and Astrea Academy Sheffield was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 39.0 for UTC Sheffield City Centre and 45.4 for Astrea Academy Sheffield.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at UTC Sheffield City Centre (38.8 in 2021-22, 39.0 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Astrea Academy Sheffield (44.5 in 2022-23, 45.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | SheffieldUTC Sheffield City Centre | SheffieldAstrea Academy Sheffield | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D45/100 | C58/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 21st of 29 in Sheffield | 10th of 29 in Sheffield Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | University technical college | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 13-19 | 2-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 536 | 1,051 | |
| Capacity | 600 | 1,095 | |
| Location | Sheffield, S1 4QF | Sheffield, S3 9BE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 39.0 | 45.4 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 23.2% | 46.7% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 59.6% | 68.9% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 40.7% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.83 | 4.02 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 99 | 135 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 47.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 7.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 100.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 101.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 80 | 16 | |
| A-level average points | 24.1 | 33.5 Stronger figure | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | D+ | C+ | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 28.6 | 33.1 Stronger figure | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 28.6% Stronger figure | 12.5% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 536 | 1,051 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 29.6% | 56.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 7.5% | 62.0% | |
| SEN support | 11.6% | 16.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.7% | 1.7% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.6% | 7.5% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 28.0% | 21.4% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
UTC Sheffield City Centre
Astrea Academy Sheffield
Full profiles: UTC Sheffield City Centre · Astrea Academy Sheffield