UTC PortsmouthSpringfield School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Portsmouth.
Summary of the comparison
UTC Portsmouth and Springfield School are secondary schools in Portsmouth.
UTC Portsmouth scores 59 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Springfield School scores 54 out of 100 (grade D, below average). UTC Portsmouth is ahead on our composite score.
UTC Portsmouth was judged strong and Springfield School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 48.3 for UTC Portsmouth and 39.8 for Springfield School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at UTC Portsmouth (57.2 in 2021-22, 48.3 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Springfield School (47.7 in 2021-22, 39.8 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | PortsmouthUTC Portsmouth | PortsmouthSpringfield School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C59/100Stronger figure | D54/100 | |
| Local ranking | 2nd of 11 in Portsmouth Stronger figure | 4th of 11 in Portsmouth | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: StrongStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | University technical college | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 14-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 493 | 1,118 | |
| Capacity | 600 | 1,135 | |
| Location | Portsmouth, PO2 9DU | Portsmouth, PO6 1QY | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.3 Stronger figure | 39.8 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 44.4% Stronger figure | 37.6% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 76.1% Stronger figure | 56.8% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 53.5% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.53 | 3.60 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 117 | 213 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 94 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 29.5 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 30.0 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 18.2% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 493 | 1,118 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 20.6% | 28.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.6% | 10.8% | |
| SEN support | 3.3% | 15.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.0% | 1.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.6% Stronger figure | 9.7% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 21.8% Stronger figure | 24.5% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
UTC Portsmouth
Springfield School
Full profiles: UTC Portsmouth · Springfield School