Ulverston Victoria High SchoolCartmel Priory CofE School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Ulverston Victoria High School and Cartmel Priory CofE School are secondary schools.
Ulverston Victoria High School scores 59 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Cartmel Priory CofE School scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average). Cartmel Priory CofE School is ahead on our composite score.
Ulverston Victoria High School was judged the expected standard and Cartmel Priory CofE School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.8 for Ulverston Victoria High School and 47.2 for Cartmel Priory CofE School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Ulverston Victoria High School (51.6 in 2021-22, 46.8 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Cartmel Priory CofE School (55.2 in 2021-22, 47.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | UlverstonUlverston Victoria High School | Grange-over-SandsCartmel Priory CofE School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C59/100 | C60/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 9th of 20 in Westmorland and Furness | 8th of 20 in Westmorland and Furness Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Expected | |
| School type | Community school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,336 | 354 | |
| Capacity | 1,310 | 380 | |
| Location | Ulverston, LA12 0EB | Grange-over-Sands, LA11 7SA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.8 | 47.2 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 37.3% | 37.7% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 60.3% Stronger figure | 58.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 34.0% Stronger figure | 18.8% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.12 Stronger figure | 3.96 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 209 | 69 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 151 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 36.1 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 35.6 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 17.2% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,336 | 354 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 14.3% | 15.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 3.2% | 5.6% | |
| SEN support | 15.6% | 9.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.6% | 7.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.4% | 5.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.6% | 14.2% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Ulverston Victoria High School
Cartmel Priory CofE School
Full profiles: Ulverston Victoria High School · Cartmel Priory CofE School