Tupton Hall SchoolParkside Community School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Chesterfield.
Summary of the comparison
Tupton Hall School and Parkside Community School are secondary schools in Chesterfield.
Tupton Hall School scores 50 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Parkside Community School scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Tupton Hall School is ahead on our composite score.
Tupton Hall School was judged Good and Parkside Community School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 43.4 for Tupton Hall School and 36.4 for Parkside Community School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Tupton Hall School (45.1 in 2021-22, 43.4 in 2025-26) and has held broadly level at Parkside Community School (36.8 in 2023-24, 36.4 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ChesterfieldTupton Hall School | ChesterfieldParkside Community School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D50/100Stronger figure | D48/100 | |
| Local ranking | 32nd of 45 in Derbyshire Stronger figure | 36th of 45 in Derbyshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Expected | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,581 | 587 | |
| Capacity | 1,821 | 600 | |
| Location | Chesterfield, S42 6LG | Chesterfield, S40 2NS | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 43.4 Stronger figure | 36.4 | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 37.4% Stronger figure | 18.9% | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 59.1% Stronger figure | 36.9% | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 235 | 122 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 128 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 31.0 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 30.8 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 5.6% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,611 | 572 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 37.1% | 51.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.9% | 10.5% | |
| SEN support | 14.0% | 19.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.2% | 4.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 11.2% | 9.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 28.1% Stronger figure | 28.4% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Tupton Hall School
Parkside Community School
Full profiles: Tupton Hall School · Parkside Community School