Trinity Academy HalifaxThe Halifax Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Halifax.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Trinity Academy Halifax and The Halifax Academy in Halifax.
Trinity Academy Halifax scores 67 out of 100 (grade C, average) and The Halifax Academy scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average). Trinity Academy Halifax is ahead on our composite score.
Trinity Academy Halifax was judged Outstanding and The Halifax Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 44.5 for Trinity Academy Halifax and 44.1 for The Halifax Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Trinity Academy Halifax (42.7 in 2021-22, 44.5 in 2024-25) and has risen at The Halifax Academy (35.6 in 2021-22, 44.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | HalifaxTrinity Academy Halifax | HalifaxThe Halifax Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C67/100Stronger figure | C56/100 | |
| Local ranking | 3rd of 12 in Calderdale Stronger figure | 8th of 12 in Calderdale | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 4-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,599 | 1,451 | |
| Capacity | 1,650 | 1,320 | |
| Location | Halifax, HX2 9TZ | Halifax, HX2 0BA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 44.5 Stronger figure | 44.1 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 41.4% Stronger figure | 32.2% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 66.2% Stronger figure | 54.6% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 77.5% Stronger figure | 15.1% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.11 Stronger figure | 3.54 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 302 | 205 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 58.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 2.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 102.0 | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,599 | 1,451 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 37.6% | 37.8% | |
| English as an additional language | 7.0% | 74.6% | |
| SEN support | 16.8% | 15.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.0% | 3.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.4% Stronger figure | 8.5% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 17.7% Stronger figure | 27.9% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Trinity Academy Halifax
The Halifax Academy
Full profiles: Trinity Academy Halifax · The Halifax Academy