Thurston Community CollegeSybil Andrews Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bury St Edmunds.
Summary of the comparison
Thurston Community College and Sybil Andrews Academy are secondary schools in Bury St Edmunds.
Thurston Community College scores 57 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Sybil Andrews Academy scores 61 out of 100 (grade C, average). Sybil Andrews Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Thurston Community College was judged Good and Sybil Andrews Academy was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.9 for Thurston Community College and 49.5 for Sybil Andrews Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Thurston Community College (48.0 in 2021-22, 46.9 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Sybil Andrews Academy (54.4 in 2021-22, 49.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Bury St EdmundsThurston Community College | Bury St EdmundsSybil Andrews Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C57/100 | C61/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 16th of 43 in Suffolk | 8th of 43 in Suffolk Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community school | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,484 | 627 | |
| Capacity | 1,800 | 780 | |
| Location | Bury St Edmunds, IP31 3PB | Bury St Edmunds, IP32 7QB | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.9 | 49.5 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 50.6% | 55.9% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 66.8% | 78.4% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 23.4% | 60.8% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.11 | 4.52 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 265 | 102 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 77 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 32.4 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.2 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 8.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,484 | 627 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 17.9% | 14.5% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.9% | 9.6% | |
| SEN support | 12.1% | 12.9% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.6% | 6.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.8% Stronger figure | 7.8% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.0% | 18.2% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Thurston Community College
Sybil Andrews Academy
Full profiles: Thurston Community College · Sybil Andrews Academy