Thurston Community CollegeKing Edward VI CEVC School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bury St Edmunds.
Summary of the comparison
Thurston Community College and King Edward VI CEVC School are secondary schools in Bury St Edmunds.
Thurston Community College scores 57 out of 100 (grade C, average) and King Edward VI CEVC School scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average). Thurston Community College is ahead on our composite score.
Thurston Community College was judged Good and King Edward VI CEVC School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 45.9 for Thurston Community College and 42.4 for King Edward VI CEVC School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Thurston Community College (48.0 in 2021-22, 45.9 in 2025-26) and has fallen at King Edward VI CEVC School (49.7 in 2021-22, 42.4 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Bury St EdmundsThurston Community College | Bury St EdmundsKing Edward VI CEVC School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C57/100Stronger figure | C56/100 | |
| Local ranking | 16th of 43 in Suffolk Stronger figure | 19th of 43 in Suffolk | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community school | Voluntary controlled school | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,512 | 1,189 | |
| Capacity | 1,800 | 1,200 | |
| Location | Bury St Edmunds, IP31 3PB | Bury St Edmunds, IP33 3BH | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 45.9 Stronger figure | 42.4 | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 45.2% Stronger figure | 37.4% | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 65.2% Stronger figure | 55.9% | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 250 | 238 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 77 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 32.4 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.2 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 8.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,484 | 1,199 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 17.9% | 20.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.9% | 6.5% | |
| SEN support | 12.1% | 11.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.6% | 4.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.8% Stronger figure | 9.9% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.0% Stronger figure | 25.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Thurston Community College
King Edward VI CEVC School
Full profiles: Thurston Community College · King Edward VI CEVC School