Thurston Community CollegeIxworth High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
Thurston Community College and Ixworth High School are secondary schools.
Thurston Community College scores 57 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Ixworth High School scores 49 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Thurston Community College is ahead on our composite score.
Thurston Community College was judged Good and Ixworth High School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.9 for Thurston Community College and 44.0 for Ixworth High School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at Thurston Community College (48.0 in 2021-22, 46.9 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Ixworth High School (42.5 in 2021-22, 44.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Bury St EdmundsThurston Community College | IxworthIxworth High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C57/100Stronger figure | D49/100 | |
| Local ranking | 16th of 43 in Suffolk Stronger figure | 33rd of 43 in Suffolk | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community school | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,484 | 547 | |
| Capacity | 1,800 | 600 | |
| Location | Bury St Edmunds, IP31 3PB | Ixworth, IP31 2HS | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.9 Stronger figure | 44.0 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 50.6% Stronger figure | 37.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 66.8% Stronger figure | 64.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 23.4% | 55.0% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.11 Stronger figure | 4.00 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 265 | 100 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 77 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 32.4 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.2 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 8.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,484 | 547 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 17.9% | 22.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 1.9% | 3.5% | |
| SEN support | 12.1% | 18.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.6% | 8.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.8% Stronger figure | 9.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 24.0% Stronger figure | 28.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Thurston Community College
Ixworth High School
Full profiles: Thurston Community College · Ixworth High School