Thomasson Memorial SchoolRaise Education and Wellbeing School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bolton.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Thomasson Memorial School and Raise Education and Wellbeing School in Bolton.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
Thomasson Memorial School was judged Good and Raise Education and Wellbeing School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 15.3 for Thomasson Memorial School and 1.1 for Raise Education and Wellbeing School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Thomasson Memorial School (3.4 in 2021-22, 15.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BoltonThomasson Memorial School | BoltonRaise Education and Wellbeing School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community special school | Other independent special school | |
| Age range | 2-16 | 11-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 80 | 50 | |
| Capacity | Not reported | 60 | |
| Location | Bolton, BL3 3LA | Bolton, BL1 3UB | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 15.3 Stronger figure | 1.1 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 7.1% Stronger figure | 0.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 14.3% Stronger figure | 0.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 0.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 0.67 Stronger figure | 0.09 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 14 | 17 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 85 | 52 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 43.2% | 0.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 64.7% | Not reported | |
| SEN support | 9.4% | 9.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 90.6% | 90.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.5% | Not reported | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 25.0% | Not reported | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Thomasson Memorial School
Full profiles: Thomasson Memorial School · Raise Education and Wellbeing School