Thomasson Memorial SchoolCambian Tyldesley School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Thomasson Memorial School and Cambian Tyldesley School.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
Thomasson Memorial School was judged Good and Cambian Tyldesley School was judged Requires improvement.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 15.3 for Thomasson Memorial School and 5.9 for Cambian Tyldesley School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at Thomasson Memorial School (3.4 in 2021-22, 15.3 in 2024-25) and has risen at Cambian Tyldesley School (1.7 in 2021-22, 5.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BoltonThomasson Memorial School | ManchesterCambian Tyldesley School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Community special school | Other independent special school | |
| Age range | 2-16 | 11-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 80 | 34 | |
| Capacity | Not reported | 34 | |
| Location | Bolton, BL3 3LA | Manchester, M29 8BS | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 15.3 Stronger figure | 5.9 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 7.1% Stronger figure | 0.0% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 14.3% Stronger figure | 10.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% | 0.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 0.67 Stronger figure | 0.33 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 14 | 10 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 85 | 27 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 43.2% | 0.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 64.7% | Not reported | |
| SEN support | 9.4% | 3.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 90.6% | 96.3% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.5% | Not reported | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 25.0% | Not reported | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Thomasson Memorial School
Full profiles: Thomasson Memorial School · Cambian Tyldesley School