The Ripley AcademyJohn Flamsteed Community School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Ripley.
Summary of the comparison
The Ripley Academy and John Flamsteed Community School are secondary schools in Ripley.
The Ripley Academy scores 52 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and John Flamsteed Community School scores 66 out of 100 (grade C, average). John Flamsteed Community School is ahead on our composite score.
The Ripley Academy was judged Good and John Flamsteed Community School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 44.5 for The Ripley Academy and 53.3 for John Flamsteed Community School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at The Ripley Academy (48.0 in 2021-22, 44.5 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at John Flamsteed Community School (54.5 in 2021-22, 53.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | RipleyThe Ripley Academy | RipleyJohn Flamsteed Community School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D52/100 | C66/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 28th of 45 in Derbyshire | 4th of 45 in Derbyshire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 900 | 834 | |
| Capacity | 1,116 | 600 | |
| Location | Ripley, DE5 3JQ | Ripley, DE5 8NP | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 44.5 | 53.3 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 42.7% | 60.9% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 64.1% | 78.8% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 24.8% | 29.5% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.80 | 4.73 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 117 | 156 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 47 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 28.4 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 28.6 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 7.4% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 900 | 834 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 34.6% | 18.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.7% | 1.2% | |
| SEN support | 11.2% | 10.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.0% | 2.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.7% | 7.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 20.2% | 17.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Ripley Academy
John Flamsteed Community School
Full profiles: The Ripley Academy · John Flamsteed Community School