The Ridgeway School & Sixth Form CollegeThe Deanery CofE Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Swindon.
Summary of the comparison
The Ridgeway School & Sixth Form College and The Deanery CofE Academy are secondary schools in Swindon.
The Ridgeway School & Sixth Form College scores 65 out of 100 (grade C, average) and The Deanery CofE Academy scores 38 out of 100 (grade F, weak). The Ridgeway School & Sixth Form College is ahead on our composite score.
The Ridgeway School & Sixth Form College was judged Good and The Deanery CofE Academy was judged Inadequate.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 53.5 for The Ridgeway School & Sixth Form College and 46.6 for The Deanery CofE Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at The Ridgeway School & Sixth Form College (54.2 in 2021-22, 53.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | SwindonThe Ridgeway School & Sixth Form College | SwindonThe Deanery CofE Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C65/100Stronger figure | F38/100 | |
| Local ranking | 2nd of 14 in Swindon Stronger figure | 14th of 14 in Swindon | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Inadequate | |
| School type | Academy converter | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,573 | 768 | |
| Capacity | 1,450 | 1,050 | |
| Location | Swindon, SN4 9DJ | Swindon, SN1 7DA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 53.5 Stronger figure | 46.6 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 61.9% Stronger figure | 50.3% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 77.8% Stronger figure | 71.4% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 76.3% Stronger figure | 20.5% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.08 Stronger figure | 4.14 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 270 | 161 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 103 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 37.0 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B- | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 39.0 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 27.8% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,573 | 768 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 16.9% | 21.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 12.5% | 32.8% | |
| SEN support | 12.0% | 11.3% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.3% | 2.7% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.6% Stronger figure | 9.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 19.3% Stronger figure | 25.3% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: The Ridgeway School & Sixth Form College · The Deanery CofE Academy