The Piggott SchoolThe Bulmershe School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Reading.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares The Piggott School and The Bulmershe School in Reading.
The Piggott School scores 73 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and The Bulmershe School scores 66 out of 100 (grade C, average). The Piggott School is ahead on our composite score.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 61.9 for The Piggott School and 50.7 for The Bulmershe School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at The Piggott School (63.1 in 2021-22, 61.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ReadingThe Piggott School | ReadingThe Bulmershe School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B73/100Stronger figure | C66/100 | |
| Local ranking | 3rd of 9 in Wokingham Stronger figure | 9th of 9 in Wokingham | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | ||
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 4-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,945 | 1,530 | |
| Capacity | 1,548 | 1,400 | |
| Location | Reading, RG10 8DS | Reading, RG5 3EU | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 61.9 Stronger figure | 50.7 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 74.6% Stronger figure | 56.3% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 90.6% Stronger figure | 73.1% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 46.5% Stronger figure | 27.7% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.49 Stronger figure | 4.48 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 213 | 238 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 69.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 7.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 109.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 108.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 223 | 111 | |
| A-level average points | 38.8 Stronger figure | 37.2 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B | B- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 38.9 | 39.2 Stronger figure | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 20.3% | 26.2% Stronger figure | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,885 | 1,506 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 6.3% | 16.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 8.2% | 26.0% | |
| SEN support | 15.8% | 6.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.8% | 2.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.5% Stronger figure | 7.1% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 15.5% Stronger figure | 18.3% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: The Piggott School · The Bulmershe School