The Piggott SchoolGillotts School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares The Piggott School and Gillotts School.
The Piggott School scores 73 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Gillotts School scores 80 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Gillotts School is ahead on our composite score.
The Piggott School was judged Good and Gillotts School was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 61.9 for The Piggott School and 61.3 for Gillotts School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at The Piggott School (63.1 in 2021-22, 61.9 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Gillotts School (59.8 in 2021-22, 61.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ReadingThe Piggott School | Henley-on-ThamesGillotts School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B73/100 | B80/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 3rd of 9 in Wokingham | 1st of 41 in Oxfordshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 4-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,885 | 918 | |
| Capacity | 1,548 | 900 | |
| Location | Reading, RG10 8DS | Henley-on-Thames, RG9 1PS | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 61.9 Stronger figure | 61.3 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 74.6% | 76.0% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 90.6% Stronger figure | 86.5% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 46.5% | 59.6% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.49 | 5.74 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 213 | 171 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 69.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 7.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 109.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 108.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 223 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 38.8 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 38.9 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 20.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,885 | 918 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 6.3% | 12.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 8.2% | 7.1% | |
| SEN support | 15.8% | 24.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.8% | 3.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 6.5% | 5.6% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 15.5% | 10.9% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Piggott School
Gillotts School
Full profiles: The Piggott School · Gillotts School