The Nobel SchoolEdwinstree Church of England Middle School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares The Nobel School and Edwinstree Church of England Middle School.
The Nobel School scores 64 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Edwinstree Church of England Middle School scores 46 out of 100 (grade D, below average). The Nobel School is ahead on our composite score.
The Nobel School was judged Good and Edwinstree Church of England Middle School was judged Good.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has fallen at Edwinstree Church of England Middle School (59.0% in 2022-23, 43.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | StevenageThe Nobel School | BuntingfordEdwinstree Church of England Middle School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C64/100Stronger figure | D46/100 | |
| Local ranking | 38th of 81 in Hertfordshire Stronger figure | 75th of 81 in Hertfordshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Foundation school | Voluntary controlled school | |
| Phase | Secondary | Middle deemed secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 9-13 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,490 | 485 | |
| Capacity | 1,526 | 480 | |
| Location | Stevenage, SG2 0HS | Buntingford, SG9 9AW | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 50.2 | Not reported | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 46.6% | Not reported | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 67.4% | Not reported | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 21.2% | Not reported | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.25 | Not reported | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 236 | Not reported | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 43.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 2.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 102.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 102.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 115 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 33.3 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 34.8 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 14.1% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,490 | 485 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 19.9% | 15.5% | |
| English as an additional language | 14.0% | 3.1% | |
| SEN support | 19.1% | 18.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.4% | 2.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.3% | 6.8% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 19.8% | 15.6% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Nobel School
Edwinstree Church of England Middle School
Full profiles: The Nobel School · Edwinstree Church of England Middle School