The Lakes SchoolJohn Ruskin School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
The Lakes School and John Ruskin School are secondary schools.
The Lakes School scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average) and John Ruskin School scores 64 out of 100 (grade C, average). John Ruskin School is ahead on our composite score.
The Lakes School was judged Good and John Ruskin School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 46.8 for The Lakes School and 52.9 for John Ruskin School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at The Lakes School (48.0 in 2021-22, 46.8 in 2024-25) and has risen at John Ruskin School (49.6 in 2021-22, 52.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | WindermereThe Lakes School | ConistonJohn Ruskin School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C56/100 | C64/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 11th of 20 in Westmorland and Furness | 4th of 20 in Westmorland and Furness Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Community school | Community school | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 439 | 242 | |
| Capacity | 851 | 230 | |
| Location | Windermere, LA23 1HW | Coniston, LA21 8EW | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 46.8 | 52.9 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 41.7% | 50.0% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 59.5% | 75.0% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 4.8% | 25.0% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.92 | 4.67 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 84 | 48 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 19 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 34.9 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.9 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 45.5% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 439 | 242 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 14.1% | 12.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 11.6% | 1.2% | |
| SEN support | 9.8% | 43.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.3% | 12.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.6% | 5.7% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 21.0% | 12.7% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Lakes School
John Ruskin School
Full profiles: The Lakes School · John Ruskin School