The King's SchoolCranbrook Education Campus
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares The King's School and Cranbrook Education Campus.
The King's School scores 67 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Cranbrook Education Campus scores 61 out of 100 (grade C, average). The King's School is ahead on our composite score.
The King's School was judged strong and Cranbrook Education Campus was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 50.6 for The King's School and 39.2 for Cranbrook Education Campus.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at The King's School (54.4 in 2021-22, 50.6 in 2025-26) and has fallen at Cranbrook Education Campus (47.1 in 2021-22, 39.2 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Ottery St MaryThe King's School | ExeterCranbrook Education Campus | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C67/100Stronger figure | C61/100 | |
| Local ranking | 4th of 41 in Devon Stronger figure | 9th of 41 in Devon | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: StrongStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 2-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,097 | 1,066 | |
| Capacity | 1,150 | 1,020 | |
| Location | Ottery St Mary, EX11 1RA | Exeter, EX5 7EE | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 50.6 Stronger figure | 39.2 | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 51.1% Stronger figure | 32.6% | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 73.3% Stronger figure | 58.4% | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 180 | 89 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 66.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 2.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 104.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 102.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 105 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 32.7 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 32.4 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 10.5% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,108 | 1,058 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 14.9% | 26.0% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.3% | 14.8% | |
| SEN support | 8.8% | 11.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 5.6% | 4.3% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.3% | 7.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 19.5% | 19.0% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The King's School
Cranbrook Education Campus
Full profiles: The King's School · Cranbrook Education Campus