The King David High SchoolSt Monica's RC High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Manchester.
Summary of the comparison
The King David High School and St Monica's RC High School are secondary schools in Manchester.
The King David High School scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average) and St Monica's RC High School scores 63 out of 100 (grade C, average). St Monica's RC High School is ahead on our composite score.
The King David High School was judged Requires improvement and St Monica's RC High School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 55.4 for The King David High School and 50.4 for St Monica's RC High School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at The King David High School (57.5 in 2021-22, 55.4 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at St Monica's RC High School (50.8 in 2021-22, 50.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | ManchesterThe King David High School | ManchesterSt Monica's RC High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C58/100 | C63/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 19th of 31 in Manchester | 2nd of 11 in Bury | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 708 | 1,032 | |
| Capacity | 775 | 1,150 | |
| Location | Manchester, M8 5DY | Manchester, M25 1JH | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 55.4 Stronger figure | 50.4 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 59.3% Stronger figure | 55.4% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 77.1% | 77.5% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 30.5% Stronger figure | 14.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.98 Stronger figure | 4.24 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 118 | 222 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 83 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 41.0 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 41.4 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 30.9% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 778 | 1,066 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 19.0% | 23.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 9.0% | 20.5% | |
| SEN support | 22.1% | 9.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.3% | 2.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.9% | 7.9% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 23.4% | 19.7% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The King David High School
St Monica's RC High School
Full profiles: The King David High School · St Monica's RC High School