The Holgate AcademyThe Bulwell Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Nottingham.
Summary of the comparison
The Holgate Academy and The Bulwell Academy are secondary schools in Nottingham.
The Holgate Academy scores 35 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and The Bulwell Academy scores 43 out of 100 (grade D, below average). The Bulwell Academy is ahead on our composite score.
The Holgate Academy was judged Requires improvement and The Bulwell Academy was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 34.3 for The Holgate Academy and 36.1 for The Bulwell Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at The Holgate Academy (36.6 in 2021-22, 34.3 in 2024-25) and has fallen at The Bulwell Academy (41.0 in 2021-22, 36.1 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | NottinghamThe Holgate Academy | NottinghamThe Bulwell Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F35/100 | D43/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 44th of 45 in Nottinghamshire | 17th of 19 in Nottingham | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Requires improvement | Ofsted: ExpectedStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,207 | 1,051 | |
| Capacity | 1,379 | 1,050 | |
| Location | Nottingham, NG15 6HB | Nottingham, NG6 8AQ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 34.3 | 36.1 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 20.3% | 29.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 38.2% | 46.8% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 22.6% Stronger figure | 12.2% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.85 | 3.01 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 212 | 188 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 24 2024-25 | Not reported2022-23 | |
| A-level average points | 30.3 2024-25 · England 35.0 | Not reported2022-23 | |
| A-level average grade | C 2024-25 | Not reported2022-23 | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 40.0 2024-25 · England 35.8 | Not reported2022-23 | |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 25.0% 2024-25 · England 17.5% | Not reported2022-23 | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,187 | 1,047 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 38.2% | 53.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.5% | 13.8% | |
| SEN support | 12.1% | 20.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.9% | 1.1% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 11.3% | 11.0% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 32.1% Stronger figure | 33.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Holgate Academy
The Bulwell Academy
Full profiles: The Holgate Academy · The Bulwell Academy