The Coopers' Company and Coborn SchoolGaynes School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Upminster.
Summary of the comparison
The Coopers' Company and Coborn School and Gaynes School are secondary schools in Upminster.
The Coopers' Company and Coborn School scores 73 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Gaynes School scores 65 out of 100 (grade C, average). The Coopers' Company and Coborn School is ahead on our composite score.
The Coopers' Company and Coborn School was judged strong and Gaynes School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 58.2 for The Coopers' Company and Coborn School and 50.7 for Gaynes School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at The Coopers' Company and Coborn School (64.6 in 2021-22, 58.2 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Gaynes School (59.6 in 2021-22, 50.7 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | UpminsterThe Coopers' Company and Coborn School | UpminsterGaynes School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B73/100Stronger figure | C65/100 | |
| Local ranking | 2nd of 18 in Havering Stronger figure | 9th of 18 in Havering | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: StrongStronger figure | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,550 | 473 | |
| Capacity | 1,550 | 960 | |
| Location | Upminster, RM14 3HS | Upminster, RM14 3UX | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 58.2 Stronger figure | 50.7 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 71.3% Stronger figure | 58.8% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 87.6% Stronger figure | 82.4% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 77.0% Stronger figure | 73.5% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 5.41 Stronger figure | 4.64 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 209 | 68 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 249 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 39.2 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 39.2 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 16.5% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,550 | 473 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 5.8% | 25.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 9.3% | 13.3% | |
| SEN support | 2.1% | 18.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.3% | 1.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 5.7% Stronger figure | 6.0% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 13.6% Stronger figure | 16.8% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Coopers' Company and Coborn School
Gaynes School
Full profiles: The Coopers' Company and Coborn School · Gaynes School