The Castle SchoolPatchway Community School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
The Castle School and Patchway Community School are secondary schools.
The Castle School scores 64 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Patchway Community School scores 41 out of 100 (grade D, below average). The Castle School is ahead on our composite score.
The Castle School was judged the expected standard and Patchway Community School was judged in need of attention.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 52.4 for The Castle School and 37.0 for Patchway Community School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at The Castle School (57.5 in 2021-22, 52.4 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Patchway Community School (38.8 in 2021-22, 37.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BristolThe Castle School | AlmondsburyPatchway Community School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C64/100Stronger figure | D41/100 | |
| Local ranking | 2nd of 16 in South Gloucestershire Stronger figure | 15th of 16 in South Gloucestershire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: ExpectedStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,449 | 951 | |
| Capacity | 1,733 | 1,080 | |
| Location | Bristol, BS35 1HT | Almondsbury, BS32 4AJ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 52.4 Stronger figure | 37.0 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 58.3% Stronger figure | 26.7% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 74.9% Stronger figure | 45.3% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 58.7% Stronger figure | 16.9% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.93 Stronger figure | 3.14 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 223 | 172 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 133 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 33.8 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 34.2 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 17.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,449 | 951 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 15.0% | 27.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 15.8% | 18.9% | |
| SEN support | 7.2% | 14.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.8% | 4.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.8% Stronger figure | 11.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 22.3% Stronger figure | 31.8% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Castle School
Patchway Community School
Full profiles: The Castle School · Patchway Community School