The Campion SchoolHornchurch High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Hornchurch.
Summary of the comparison
The Campion School and Hornchurch High School are secondary schools in Hornchurch.
The Campion School scores 70 out of 100 (grade B, strong) and Hornchurch High School scores 64 out of 100 (grade C, average). The Campion School is ahead on our composite score.
The Campion School was judged the expected standard and Hornchurch High School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 52.8 for The Campion School and 54.0 for Hornchurch High School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at The Campion School (55.5 in 2021-22, 52.8 in 2024-25) and has risen at Hornchurch High School (45.4 in 2021-22, 54.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | HornchurchThe Campion School | HornchurchHornchurch High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | B70/100Stronger figure | C64/100 | |
| Local ranking | 5th of 18 in Havering Stronger figure | 10th of 18 in Havering | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Boys | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,244 | 717 | |
| Capacity | 1,050 | 932 | |
| Location | Hornchurch, RM11 3BX | Hornchurch, RM12 4AJ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 52.8 | 54.0 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 62.3% Stronger figure | 61.4% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 80.8% Stronger figure | 77.3% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 58.3% Stronger figure | 41.7% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.85 | 4.88 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 151 | 132 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 174 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 32.1 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 32.0 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 5.8% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,244 | 717 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 10.2% | 32.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 18.1% | 34.0% | |
| SEN support | 4.0% | 6.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.1% | 2.6% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 4.4% Stronger figure | 7.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 7.4% Stronger figure | 18.0% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Campion School
Hornchurch High School
Full profiles: The Campion School · Hornchurch High School