The Burgess Hill AcademySt Paul's Catholic College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Burgess Hill.
Summary of the comparison
The Burgess Hill Academy and St Paul's Catholic College are secondary schools in Burgess Hill.
The Burgess Hill Academy scores 54 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and St Paul's Catholic College scores 76 out of 100 (grade B, strong). St Paul's Catholic College is ahead on our composite score.
The Burgess Hill Academy was judged Good and St Paul's Catholic College was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 44.6 for The Burgess Hill Academy and 55.5 for St Paul's Catholic College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at The Burgess Hill Academy (48.4 in 2021-22, 44.6 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at St Paul's Catholic College (56.1 in 2022-23, 55.5 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Burgess HillThe Burgess Hill Academy | Burgess HillSt Paul's Catholic College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D54/100 | B76/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 29th of 38 in West Sussex | 2nd of 38 in West Sussex Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,018 | 1,190 | |
| Capacity | 1,200 | 1,050 | |
| Location | Burgess Hill, RH15 9EA | Burgess Hill, RH15 8GA | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 44.6 | 55.5 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 48.3% | 63.5% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 65.1% | 87.3% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 26.3% | 75.1% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.81 | 5.13 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 209 | 181 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 108 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 36.9 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | B- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 38.6 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 17.1% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,018 | 1,190 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 16.0% | 9.3% | |
| English as an additional language | 7.6% | 11.2% | |
| SEN support | 11.9% | 16.6% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.2% | 2.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.0% | 5.8% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 22.2% | 12.8% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Burgess Hill Academy
St Paul's Catholic College
Full profiles: The Burgess Hill Academy · St Paul's Catholic College