The Bishop of Winchester AcademyAvonbourne Boys' Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bournemouth.
Summary of the comparison
The Bishop of Winchester Academy and Avonbourne Boys' Academy are secondary schools in Bournemouth.
The Bishop of Winchester Academy scores 59 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Avonbourne Boys' Academy scores 71 out of 100 (grade B, strong). Avonbourne Boys' Academy is ahead on our composite score.
The Bishop of Winchester Academy was judged Good and Avonbourne Boys' Academy was judged Outstanding.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 49.6 for The Bishop of Winchester Academy and 47.3 for Avonbourne Boys' Academy.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at The Bishop of Winchester Academy (45.3 in 2021-22, 49.6 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Avonbourne Boys' Academy (47.1 in 2021-22, 47.3 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BournemouthThe Bishop of Winchester Academy | BournemouthAvonbourne Boys' Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C59/100 | B71/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 13th of 24 in Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole | 7th of 24 in Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: OutstandingStronger figure | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Boys | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,178 | 840 | |
| Capacity | 1,250 | 900 | |
| Location | Bournemouth, BH8 9PW | Bournemouth, BH7 6NZ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 49.6 Stronger figure | 47.3 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 52.6% | 58.6% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 72.4% | 75.3% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 45.4% | 47.5% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.42 Stronger figure | 4.38 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 196 | 162 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 39 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 31.5 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.3 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 16.7% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,178 | 840 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 23.2% | 27.6% | |
| English as an additional language | 18.3% | 31.5% | |
| SEN support | 14.9% | 20.5% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.0% | 2.5% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.2% | 6.5% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 28.0% | 18.4% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Bishop of Winchester Academy
Avonbourne Boys' Academy
Full profiles: The Bishop of Winchester Academy · Avonbourne Boys' Academy