The Bicester SchoolHeyford Park School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Bicester.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares The Bicester School and Heyford Park School in Bicester.
The Bicester School scores 55 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Heyford Park School scores 56 out of 100 (grade C, average). Heyford Park School is ahead on our composite score.
The Bicester School was judged Good and Heyford Park School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 47.9 for The Bicester School and 39.7 for Heyford Park School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has held broadly level at The Bicester School (46.3 in 2021-22, 47.9 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Heyford Park School (54.4 in 2021-22, 39.7 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BicesterThe Bicester School | BicesterHeyford Park School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C55/100 | C56/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 24th of 41 in Oxfordshire | 23rd of 41 in Oxfordshire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Free schools | |
| Phase | Secondary | All-through | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 3-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,198 | 655 | |
| Capacity | 1,430 | 840 | |
| Location | Bicester, OX26 2NS | Bicester, OX25 5HD | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 47.9 Stronger figure | 39.7 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 49.0% Stronger figure | 35.6% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 65.2% Stronger figure | 57.6% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 44.6% Stronger figure | 33.9% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.37 Stronger figure | 3.37 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 204 | 59 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 68.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 22.0% | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | Not reported | 106.0 | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | Not reported | 106.0 | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 60 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 30.3 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 31.1 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 9.8% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,198 | 655 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 20.0% | 15.2% | |
| English as an additional language | 14.5% | 9.5% | |
| SEN support | 19.1% | 19.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.6% | 1.4% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.7% | 7.5% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 22.4% Stronger figure | 22.9% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Bicester School
Heyford Park School
Full profiles: The Bicester School · Heyford Park School