The Avon Valley School and Performing Arts CollegeLutterworth College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
The Avon Valley School and Performing Arts College and Lutterworth College are secondary schools.
The Avon Valley School and Performing Arts College scores 53 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Lutterworth College scores 58 out of 100 (grade C, average). Lutterworth College is ahead on our composite score.
The Avon Valley School and Performing Arts College was judged Good and Lutterworth College was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 44.4 for The Avon Valley School and Performing Arts College and 48.7 for Lutterworth College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at The Avon Valley School and Performing Arts College (41.7 in 2021-22, 44.4 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Lutterworth College (50.9 in 2021-22, 48.7 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | RugbyThe Avon Valley School and Performing Arts College | LutterworthLutterworth College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D53/100 | C58/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 26th of 38 in Warwickshire | 22nd of 44 in Leicestershire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-16 | 11-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,114 | 1,559 | |
| Capacity | 1,100 | 2,047 | |
| Location | Rugby, CV21 1EH | Lutterworth, LE17 4EW | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 44.4 | 48.7 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 40.3% | 48.3% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 64.2% | 78.0% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 21.7% | 22.4% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.73 | 4.12 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 226 | 232 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | Not reported | 168 | |
| A-level average points | Not reported | 31.3 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | Not reported | C | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 31.6 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 5.6% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,114 | 1,559 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 34.8% | 11.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 25.0% | 2.6% | |
| SEN support | 14.2% | 10.1% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.6% | 2.3% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.2% | 7.6% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 26.2% | 17.2% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
The Avon Valley School and Performing Arts College
Lutterworth College
Full profiles: The Avon Valley School and Performing Arts College · Lutterworth College