Swindon AcademyAbbey Park School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Swindon.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Swindon Academy and Abbey Park School in Swindon.
Swindon Academy scores 66 out of 100 (grade C, average) and Abbey Park School scores 60 out of 100 (grade C, average). Swindon Academy is ahead on our composite score.
Swindon Academy was judged the expected standard and Abbey Park School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 50.2 for Swindon Academy and 46.2 for Abbey Park School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Swindon Academy (52.2 in 2021-22, 50.2 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Abbey Park School (46.1 in 2021-22, 46.2 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | SwindonSwindon Academy | SwindonAbbey Park School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C66/100Stronger figure | C60/100 | |
| Local ranking | 1st of 14 in Swindon Stronger figure | 5th of 14 in Swindon | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 2-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,854 | 1,182 | |
| Capacity | 2,243 | 1,200 | |
| Location | Swindon, SN2 1JR | Swindon, SN25 2ND | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 50.2 Stronger figure | 46.2 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 57.4% Stronger figure | 50.6% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 75.7% Stronger figure | 70.1% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 45.6% Stronger figure | 42.0% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.59 Stronger figure | 4.18 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 169 | 231 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 44.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 2.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 101.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 99.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 60 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 30.8 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 33.2 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 16.1% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,854 | 1,182 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 41.0% | 17.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 36.1% | 11.7% | |
| SEN support | 16.9% | 15.2% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.7% | 4.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.2% | 7.4% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 22.8% | 19.5% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Swindon Academy
Abbey Park School
Full profiles: Swindon Academy · Abbey Park School