Stratford Upon Avon SchoolWelcombe Hills School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Stratford-upon-Avon.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Stratford Upon Avon School and Welcombe Hills School in Stratford-upon-Avon.
Stratford Upon Avon School was judged Good and Welcombe Hills School was judged Requires improvement.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has held broadly level at Welcombe Hills School (0.0% in 2022-23, 0.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Stratford-upon-AvonStratford Upon Avon School | Stratford-upon-AvonWelcombe Hills School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C58/100 | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | 19th of 38 in Warwickshire | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy special converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Not reported | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 2-19 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,904 | 174 | |
| Capacity | 1,750 | Not reported | |
| Location | Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 9DH | Stratford-upon-Avon, CV37 6TQ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 48.6 | Not reported | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 47.4% | Not reported | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 72.1% | Not reported | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 28.5% | Not reported | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.22 | Not reported | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 312 | 14 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | Not reported | 0.0% | 8.0% |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 119 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 31.3 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 31.5 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 6.6% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,904 | 174 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 23.2% | 51.4% | |
| English as an additional language | 9.8% | 4.6% | |
| SEN support | 14.1% | 0.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 1.5% | 100.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.4% Stronger figure | 11.1% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 26.3% Stronger figure | 31.7% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Stratford Upon Avon School
Welcombe Hills School
Full profiles: Stratford Upon Avon School · Welcombe Hills School