Stonyhurst CollegeIslamiyah School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Blackburn.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares Stonyhurst College and Islamiyah School.
Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 29.5 for Stonyhurst College and 58.3 for Islamiyah School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Stonyhurst College (43.1 in 2021-22, 29.5 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Islamiyah School (60.6 in 2021-22, 58.3 in 2023-24).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | Stonyhurst College | BlackburnIslamiyah School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | Not scored | Not scored | |
| Local ranking | Not ranked | Not ranked | |
| Inspection | Independent School | Independent School | |
| School type | Other independent school | Other independent school | |
| Age range | 3-19 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Girls | |
| Pupils on roll | 661 | 175 | |
| Capacity | 860 | 270 | |
| Location | BB7 9PZ | Blackburn, BB1 5NQ | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 29.5 2024-25 · England 46.0 | 58.3 Stronger figure2023-24 · England 45.9 | |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 0.0% 2024-25 · England 45.4% | 66.7% Stronger figure2023-24 · England 45.9% | |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 0.0% 2024-25 · England 64.8% | 92.9% Stronger figure2023-24 · England 65.0% | |
| Entering EBacc | 0.0% 2024-25 · England 40.5% | 97.6% Stronger figure2023-24 · England 40.4% | |
| EBacc average point score | 2.32 2024-25 · England 4.09 | 5.61 Stronger figure2023-24 · England 4.07 | |
| Cohort | 108 2024-25 | 42 2023-24 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 61 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 42.3 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | B+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 40.9 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 24.4% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 661 | 175 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 0.0% | 0.0% | |
| SEN support | 25.9% | 11.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 0.6% | 0.0% | |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: Stonyhurst College · Islamiyah School