Staffordshire University AcademyCardinal Griffin Catholic College
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Cannock.
Summary of the comparison
Staffordshire University Academy and Cardinal Griffin Catholic College are secondary schools in Cannock.
Staffordshire University Academy scores 44 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Cardinal Griffin Catholic College scores 53 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Cardinal Griffin Catholic College is ahead on our composite score.
Staffordshire University Academy was judged Good and Cardinal Griffin Catholic College was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 32.9 for Staffordshire University Academy and 43.6 for Cardinal Griffin Catholic College.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at Staffordshire University Academy (38.6 in 2021-22, 32.9 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | CannockStaffordshire University Academy | CannockCardinal Griffin Catholic College | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D44/100 | D53/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 59th of 70 in Staffordshire | 38th of 70 in Staffordshire Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy sponsor led | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-19 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 673 | 775 | |
| Capacity | 900 | 998 | |
| Location | Cannock, WS12 4JH | Cannock, WS11 4AW | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 32.9 | 43.6 Stronger figure | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 9.9% | 35.6% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 31.0% | 56.3% Stronger figure | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 1.4% | 57.0% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.60 | 3.82 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 71 | 135 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 18 | 41 | |
| A-level average points | 24.0 | 28.4 Stronger figure | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | D+ | C | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | Not reported | 28.5 | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | Not reported | 4.0% | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 673 | 775 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 44.5% | 29.9% | |
| English as an additional language | 2.7% | 5.8% | |
| SEN support | 18.9% | 10.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.0% | 2.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.4% Stronger figure | 8.6% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 25.3% | 23.2% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
Staffordshire University Academy
Cardinal Griffin Catholic College
Full profiles: Staffordshire University Academy · Cardinal Griffin Catholic College