St Luke's CofE (C) Primary SchoolSt John's CofE Primary Academy
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Newcastle.
Summary of the comparison
St Luke's CofE (C) Primary School and St John's CofE Primary Academy are primary schools in Newcastle.
St Luke's CofE (C) Primary School scores 36 out of 100 (grade F, weak) and St John's CofE Primary Academy scores 48 out of 100 (grade D, below average). St John's CofE Primary Academy is ahead on our composite score.
St Luke's CofE (C) Primary School was judged the expected standard and St John's CofE Primary Academy was judged Requires improvement.
The share of pupils meeting the expected standard at Key Stage 2 has held broadly level at St Luke's CofE (C) Primary School (35.0% in 2022-23, 35.0% in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | NewcastleSt Luke's CofE (C) Primary School | NewcastleSt John's CofE Primary Academy | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | F36/100 | D48/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 211th of 285 in Staffordshire Stronger figure | 283rd of 285 in Staffordshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: GoodStronger figure | Ofsted: Requires improvement | |
| School type | Voluntary controlled school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | Primary | Primary | |
| Age range | 4-11 | 3-11 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 197 | 155 | |
| Capacity | 210 | 234 | |
| Location | Newcastle, ST5 6QJ | Newcastle, ST5 5AF | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 35.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 0.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 101.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 101.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 191 | 161 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 30.9% | 7.5% | |
| English as an additional language | 6.3% | 16.1% | |
| SEN support | 22.5% | 16.8% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 7.8% | 0.0% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 7.1% | 5.1% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 16.9% | 10.0% Stronger figure | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Full profiles: St Luke's CofE (C) Primary School · St John's CofE Primary Academy