St John's SchoolBrentwood School

Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Brentwood.

Summary of the comparison

This page compares St John's School and Brentwood School.

  • Neither school has a composite score. Our score needs published attainment data, which is not available for every school or every nation.

  • On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 45.4 for St John's School and 30.8 for Brentwood School.

  • GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at St John's School (52.8 in 2021-22, 45.4 in 2024-25) and has held broadly level at Brentwood School (29.1 in 2021-22, 30.8 in 2024-25).

Side-by-side comparison

St John's School versus Brentwood School compared on inspection, results, pupils and attendance.
Measure St John's SchoolBrentwoodBrentwood SchoolEngland average
Overview
Our score Not scored Not scored
Local rankingNot rankedNot ranked
InspectionIndependent SchoolIndependent School
School typeOther independent school Other independent school
Age range2-16 3-19
GenderMixed Mixed
Pupils on roll274 1,853
Capacity550 2,000
LocationCM12 0AR Brentwood, CM15 8EE
GCSE results
Attainment 845.4 Stronger figure30.8 46.0
Grade 5+ in English & maths42.3% 78.4% Stronger figure45.4%
Grade 4+ in English & maths73.1% 92.4% Stronger figure64.8%
Entering EBacc3.8% Stronger figure0.0% 40.5%
EBacc average point score3.61 Stronger figure1.26 4.09
Cohort26 185
A-level results
A-level entriesNot reported134
A-level average pointsNot reported42.9 35.0
A-level average gradeNot reportedB+
Best 3 A-levels pointsNot reported40.5 35.8
AAB+ incl. facilitating subjectsNot reported19.5% 17.5%
Pupils
Pupils in the census280 1,878
Free school meals (ever 6)0.0% 0.0%
SEN support26.1% 21.2%
SEN with an EHC plan0.0% 0.1%

marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.

Historical trends

Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.

GCSE Attainment 8

Pupils on roll

Full profiles: St John's School · Brentwood School