St John's MarlboroughJohn O'Gaunt School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
St John's Marlborough and John O'Gaunt School are secondary schools.
St John's Marlborough scores 63 out of 100 (grade C, average) and John O'Gaunt School scores 42 out of 100 (grade D, below average). St John's Marlborough is ahead on our composite score.
St John's Marlborough was judged the expected standard and John O'Gaunt School was judged the expected standard.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 50.9 for St John's Marlborough and 32.0 for John O'Gaunt School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at St John's Marlborough (56.4 in 2021-22, 50.9 in 2024-25) and has fallen at John O'Gaunt School (41.3 in 2021-22, 32.0 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | MarlboroughSt John's Marlborough | HungerfordJohn O'Gaunt School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | C63/100Stronger figure | D42/100 | |
| Local ranking | 7th of 27 in Wiltshire | 9th of 9 in West Berkshire | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,712 | 440 | |
| Capacity | 1,620 | 600 | |
| Location | Marlborough, SN8 4AX | Hungerford, RG17 0AN | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 50.9 Stronger figure | 32.0 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 57.1% Stronger figure | 24.7% | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 72.2% Stronger figure | 43.2% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 69.9% Stronger figure | 9.9% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 4.75 Stronger figure | 2.68 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 259 | 81 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 188 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 33.9 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 34.7 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 17.1% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,712 | 440 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 12.5% | 31.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 4.6% | 3.6% | |
| SEN support | 11.4% | 18.4% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 2.6% | 4.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.6% Stronger figure | 10.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 22.8% Stronger figure | 29.0% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
St John's Marlborough
John O'Gaunt School
Full profiles: St John's Marlborough · John O'Gaunt School