St John Plessington Catholic CollegeCo-op Academy Bebington
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side in Wirral.
Summary of the comparison
St John Plessington Catholic College and Co-op Academy Bebington are secondary schools in Wirral.
St John Plessington Catholic College scores 50 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Co-op Academy Bebington scores 51 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Co-op Academy Bebington is ahead on our composite score.
St John Plessington Catholic College was judged Good and Co-op Academy Bebington was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 39.4 for St John Plessington Catholic College and 36.3 for Co-op Academy Bebington.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at St John Plessington Catholic College (44.0 in 2021-22, 39.4 in 2025-26) and has fallen at Co-op Academy Bebington (42.3 in 2021-22, 36.3 in 2025-26).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | WirralSt John Plessington Catholic College | WirralCo-op Academy Bebington | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D50/100 | D51/100Stronger figure | |
| Local ranking | 14th of 20 in Wirral | 13th of 20 in Wirral Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Academy converter | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,556 | 1,044 | |
| Capacity | 1,800 | 1,256 | |
| Location | Wirral, CH63 7LF | Wirral, CH63 2PS | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 39.4 Stronger figure | 36.3 | 46.2 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 32.1% Stronger figure | 17.5% | 46.3% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 52.8% Stronger figure | 48.1% | 64.8% |
| Cohort | 265 | 189 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 73 | 30 | |
| A-level average points | 27.2 Stronger figure | 25.1 | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | C- | C- | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 29.1 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 4.3% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,544 | 1,062 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 39.6% | 51.7% | |
| English as an additional language | 12.0% | 5.7% | |
| SEN support | 14.4% | 23.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.7% | 7.2% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 10.9% | 9.8% Stronger figure | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 30.2% Stronger figure | 31.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
A-level average points
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
St John Plessington Catholic College
Co-op Academy Bebington
Full profiles: St John Plessington Catholic College · Co-op Academy Bebington