St John Bosco Arts CollegeKirkby High School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
St John Bosco Arts College and Kirkby High School are secondary schools.
St John Bosco Arts College scores 46 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and Kirkby High School scores 34 out of 100 (grade F, weak). St John Bosco Arts College is ahead on our composite score.
St John Bosco Arts College was judged the expected standard and Kirkby High School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 39.4 for St John Bosco Arts College and 31.4 for Kirkby High School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has fallen at St John Bosco Arts College (48.5 in 2021-22, 39.4 in 2024-25) and has fallen at Kirkby High School (34.8 in 2021-22, 31.4 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | CroxtethSt John Bosco Arts College | LiverpoolKirkby High School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D46/100Stronger figure | F34/100 | |
| Local ranking | 19th of 31 in Liverpool | 4th of 6 in Knowsley | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Expected | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Voluntary aided school | Academy sponsor led | |
| Phase | Secondary | Secondary | |
| Age range | 11-18 | 11-16 | |
| Gender | Girls | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,051 | 1,027 | |
| Capacity | 1,064 | 1,000 | |
| Location | Croxteth, L11 9DQ | Liverpool, L32 9PP | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 39.4 Stronger figure | 31.4 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 19.5% | 20.0% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 44.4% Stronger figure | 37.3% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 75.1% Stronger figure | 10.8% | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 3.55 Stronger figure | 2.55 | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 169 | 185 | |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 29 | Not reported | |
| A-level average points | 23.8 | Not reported | 35.0 |
| A-level average grade | D+ | Not reported | |
| Best 3 A-levels points | 21.7 | Not reported | 35.8 |
| AAB+ incl. facilitating subjects | 0.0% | Not reported | 17.5% |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,051 | 1,027 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 49.3% | 61.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 10.0% | 7.3% | |
| SEN support | 16.5% | 20.0% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 3.2% | 3.8% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 9.7% Stronger figure | 12.9% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 26.6% Stronger figure | 39.2% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
St John Bosco Arts College
Kirkby High School
Full profiles: St John Bosco Arts College · Kirkby High School