St George's Church of England Foundation SchoolKing Ethelbert School
Inspection, results, pupils and attendance side by side.
Summary of the comparison
This page compares St George's Church of England Foundation School and King Ethelbert School.
St George's Church of England Foundation School scores 49 out of 100 (grade D, below average) and King Ethelbert School scores 49 out of 100 (grade D, below average). Our score is the same for each of them on the data available.
St George's Church of England Foundation School was judged Good and King Ethelbert School was judged Good.
On GCSE Attainment 8, the latest published figures are 37.7 for St George's Church of England Foundation School and 36.8 for King Ethelbert School.
GCSE Attainment 8 has risen at St George's Church of England Foundation School (35.5 in 2021-22, 37.7 in 2024-25) and has fallen at King Ethelbert School (40.4 in 2021-22, 36.8 in 2024-25).
Side-by-side comparison
| Measure | BroadstairsSt George's Church of England Foundation School | BirchingtonKing Ethelbert School | England average |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Our score | D49/100 | D49/100 | |
| Local ranking | 72nd of 102 in Kent | 71st of 102 in Kent Stronger figure | |
| Inspection | Ofsted: Good | Ofsted: Good | |
| School type | Foundation school | Academy converter | |
| Phase | All-through | Secondary | |
| Age range | 4-19 | 11-18 | |
| Gender | Mixed | Mixed | |
| Pupils on roll | 1,616 | 794 | |
| Capacity | 1,375 | 870 | |
| Location | Broadstairs, CT10 2LH | Birchington, CT7 9BL | |
| GCSE results | |||
| Attainment 8 | 37.7 Stronger figure | 36.8 | 46.0 |
| Grade 5+ in English & maths | 16.7% | 22.0% Stronger figure | 45.4% |
| Grade 4+ in English & maths | 50.9% Stronger figure | 39.0% | 64.8% |
| Entering EBacc | 7.4% | 34.8% Stronger figure | 40.5% |
| EBacc average point score | 2.75 | 3.10 Stronger figure | 4.09 |
| Cohort | 216 | 141 | |
| Key Stage 2 (SATs) | |||
| Reading, writing & maths at expected standard | 65.0% | Not reported | 62.0% |
| At higher standard | 3.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Reading average scaled score | 105.0 | Not reported | 106.0 |
| Maths average scaled score | 103.0 | Not reported | 105.0 |
| A-level results | |||
| A-level entries | 1 | Not reported | |
| Pupils | |||
| Pupils in the census | 1,616 | 794 | |
| Free school meals (ever 6) | 35.4% | 35.1% | |
| English as an additional language | 5.8% | 6.9% | |
| SEN support | 11.8% | 24.7% | |
| SEN with an EHC plan | 4.8% | 4.9% | |
| Attendance | |||
| Overall absence | 8.6% Stronger figure | 10.3% | 6.2% |
| Persistent absence | 27.1% Stronger figure | 30.6% | 15.8% |
marks the stronger figure on measures with a clear direction. Rows describing a school's intake, such as free school meals, English as an additional language and SEN, carry no marker: they describe who a school serves, not how well it serves them.
Historical trends
Each solid line is one school; the dashed line is the national average.
GCSE Attainment 8
GCSE Progress 8
Overall absence
Free school meal eligibility (ever 6)
Pupils on roll
Ethnicity over time
One panel per school: the largest groups across this comparison, one colour per group, on a shared scale.
St George's Church of England Foundation School
King Ethelbert School
Full profiles: St George's Church of England Foundation School · King Ethelbert School